Rachel Flowers

Rachel Flowers

This slide was created by various faculty members sharing information found about Rachel Flowers, the first African American student to attend my college.

Updated August 2013:

My name is Christina and I am a senior history major at Messiah College. I was inspired to discover the story of Rachel Flowers after reading the slide above. It challenged me to learn who Rachel was and who she became. I remember thinking to myself that it would only take a few months to complete her story, but today I come to you almost two years later. Still, I am unfolding Rachel’s story, yet I have made it my goal to uncover the story of her entire family for it is one that needs to be told. Years later and I continued to be amazed because this is only the beginning.

Enjoy.

Stay posted as both you and I discover the Flowers’ family.

Christina

7 responses to “Rachel Flowers

  1. I have an uncanny feeling that Dr. Bernardo had a hand in this? Good luck and solid research. Wanna do a presentation for BSU??

    • Haha not really the research was my idea, he just wants a lot of it to be digital…its this new thing the humanities department wants to do. When would you like me to present, I might not be here during the spring semester.

  2. Yes, Rachel Flowers is an interesting person for you to be researching. The conflicting dates and information are not unsual in the census, which is why other information is good. You may be able to geet more information about her civil service record and her brother’s time in the military. Can the school help you locate family members? Do you know where she was living when she died? You might find an actual person to talk to that way.

    • Well, the school only had her school records and the civil service record. They do not know what happened to her and I guess they did not have time to find out what happened to her. I found a death record for her and she died in 1988 in Philadelphia. Hopefully I will find an actual person to talk to. I really hope so!

  3. Divorce was still uncommon then. Often “race” was determined by the person taking the cansus simply by looking and they weren’t always accurate. Some people were missed by census takers. They weren’t always very careful to include blacks.
    I’m having trouble finding my way around your blog. I hope I answer what I could.

Leave a Reply

